top of page

Moisturize Hair Like a Pro

Hey Family members

🥁Temi on the beat again 🥁

I know you’ve missed me but guess what?

Your baby girl is back with an amazing one for you.

Guys, I’m getting ready to spill some hair moisturizing tips, so just bring out you pen and jotter 😂🙈


 

So I’d be sharing how I started moisturizing my hair.

While seeking for the best moisturizing method, I got to know about LCO and LOC moisturizing methods.

LCO is the acronym for Liquid, Cream & Oil

While LOC is the acronym for Liquid, Oil & Cream.

The both methods are designed to lock in moisture due to their application processes. This two methods are wonderful and works perfectly just according to your hair porosity type.

For my babies who are wondering what hair porosity means, I’d tell you something brief about it. Hair porosity refers to how well your hair is able to absorb moisture. The two main types are high porosity and low porosity and for you to know your porosity level you could check out the hair porosity tests online.

Oh my Jezzzz, I honestly feel like one hair guru 😂🙈. Please google hair porosity for more information and for better understanding 😉


Diving Into the Method I use. 🌊


For moisturizing my hair I stick to the LCO method because this is what has worked for me overtime and this is what is suitable for my hair. You could try out the two methods first to know which retain moisture longer.


The 3 Steps I Use:

Liquid/Leave-In Conditioner:

I most times focus on moisturizing during wash days and any other day.

On any other day I re-wet my hair with water if it’s completely dry but on wash days my hair is definitely wet after washing, so I just go in with my “Mega Growth” leave in conditioner and apply it evenly throughout each section of my hair from the root to the tip of my hair making sure I give some extra love to the ends of my hair because that is where we have the driest and oldest part of our hair.

After conditioning, I immediately jump into the next step because I believe that is enough liquid for me.


Cream:

This is what I do next because of my hair type but some others do this last still because of their hair type. You could use branded hair creams or hair butters like chebe butter or shea butter. Get to know your hair type to identify what’s best for you. Just so you’d know what to do next.



Oil:

After setting in cream. I seal in moisture using light oils. I massage only a thin later of oil into my scalp while going section by section to avoid my hair from looking overly greasy.

While using oils it’s best to note heavy oils are not suitable for low porosity hair and light oils will not efficiently moisturize high porosity hair.

Some oils suitable for low porosity hair are Argan oil and Avocado oil.

On the other hand Castor oil, Coconut oil and Olive oil are good for high porosity.


Some other Moisturizing tips are:


  1. Go to bed with a satin bonnet or pillowcase in order to keep your hair moisturized over the night. It’s important to note that cotton pillowcase will soak out the moisture in your hair leaving your hair dry.

  2. Stay hydrated because what you eat and drink reflects on your hair and skin. Drink enough water per time to keep your hair moisturized and to aid faster hair growth.

  3. Don’t over manipulate your hair. Excess touching will strip out oils and cost you more moisturizing time.


With these few tips of mine I hope I have been able to help in one or two ways😊


Stay Safe

Stay Blessed

And remember you body is a Temple

Peace Out 🧡✌️



94 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page